

Steph Cooke Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Minister for Flood Recovery

MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday, 26 January 2023

FRONTLINE HEROES RECOGNISED IN AUSTRALIA DAY HONOURS

Eighteen emergency services personnel have been recognised in the Australia Day Honours List for their exceptional commitment and dedication to protecting NSW communities.

The Australian Fire Service Medal is being awarded to 12 volunteers and staff of Fire and Rescue NSW and the NSW Rural Fire Service.

The Emergency Services Medal is being awarded to six volunteers and staff of the NSW State Emergency Service, Surf Life Saving NSW and the Volunteer Rescue Association.

Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Steph Cooke said the awards are well-deserved recognition for personnel who have given their all over the past 12 months in service of others.

"2022 was one of the wettest years in NSW history and we saw widespread, recordbreaking flooding across the State. This has required all of our emergency services organisations to do their utmost to protect people and property," Ms Cooke said.

"Our volunteers and staff continue to go above and beyond to make their communities safer and stronger and I couldn't be more proud of the way they have responded to unprecedented and unpredictable weather events, risking their own lives time and time again.

"On behalf of the people of NSW, I'd like to congratulate our medal recipients for their ongoing service, and reinforce the NSW Liberal and Nationals Government's commitment to providing our first responders with the resources and support they need to keep our communities safe and strong into the future."

MEDIA: Ben Sheath | 0403 767 636

Australian Fire Service Medal recipients:

- Group Captain Bruce Angel (Tarcutta Rural Fire Brigade)
- Deputy Group Captain Jennifer Bamman (Surf Beach Rural Fire Brigade)
- Group Captain Peter Bulliman (Boara Rural Fire Brigade)

- Group Captain Warren Cree OAM (Davidson Rural Fire Brigade)
- Chief Superintendent Stephen Hirst (Region North Commander, Fire and Rescue NSW)
- Superintendent Belinda Hooker (Fire and Rescue NSW)
- Deputy Commissioner Peter McKechnie (NSW Rural Fire Service)
- Group Captain Maurice McMillen (Eglinton Rural Fire Brigade)
- Assistant Commissioner Roger Mentha (Fire and Rescue NSW)
- Deputy Captain Peter Ryan (Dubbo Fire and Rescue NSW Station)
- Captain Kym Stanford (Mungindi Rural Fire Brigade)
- Group Captain Craig Walters (dual member of Elong Elong and Wongarbon Rural Fire Brigades)

Emergency Services Medal recipients:

- Chief Inspector Susan Chapple (Local Commander, Clarence Valley Cluster, NSW State Emergency Service)
- Mr Gary Daly (Coogee Surf Life Saving Club)
- Mr Paul Marshall (Volunteer Rescue Association)
- Mr Henry Scruton (Nobbys Surf Life Saving Club)
- Mr Brad Taylor (Garie Surf Life Saving Club)
- Inspector Barry Wademan (Unit Commander, Blacktown Unit, NSW State Emergency Service)