

## Hon Michael Gallacher MLC

Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Minister for Police and Emergency Services Minister for the Hunter

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Monday 5 March 2012

## ANOTHER FIVE LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS DECLARED NATURAL DISASTERS

Following the recent flooding which has impacted communities across NSW, Minister for Police and Emergency Services Michael Gallacher has announced a further five Natural Disaster Declarations.

The Declarations are for the Local Government Areas of Forbes, Lockhart, Wagga Wagga, Parkes and Tumut.

"These townships have been inundated with an amount of rainfall that is unprecedented in most areas, which has caused severe damage to major infrastructure including roads, as well as homes and businesses," Minister Gallacher said.

"The Local Government Areas of Coolamon, Corowa, Gundagai, Snowy River, Cooma-Monaro, Young, Upper Lachlan, Boorowa and Weddin Shire Councils were declared Natural Disasters today as a result of this recent weather event," he said.

This declaration makes a number of supportive schemes available to assist with the cost of restoration and recovery under the Commonwealth Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements and the NSW Disaster Assistance Arrangements.

"We will continue to monitor the situation as it unfolds across the state and it is likely more Natural Disaster Declarations will be made as a result of this unprecedented weather event," Minister Gallacher said.

"I'd also like to thank the members of the State Emergency Service and other emergency service personnel who have worked tirelessly over the past week," Minister Gallacher concluded.

Anyone needing help from the SES should contact their local unit on 132 500. In life threatening emergencies, always ring triple zero (000).

**ENDS** 

MEDIA: Tess Salmon 0467 740 017 or Clint McGilvray 0413 285 186