

David Elliott Minister for Police Minister for Emergency Services

MEDIA RELEASE

Wednesday, 19 June 2019

ROTARY EMERGENCY SERVICES COMMUNITY AWARDS HONOUR EMERGENCY SERVICES WORKERS

Twenty-four emergency services workers with more than 466 years of combined service make up the finalists for the 2019 Rotary Clubs and Districts of NSW Emergency Services Community Awards.

These finalists come from many walks of life, representing each of Fire and Rescue NSW, NSW Ambulance, NSW State Emergency Services, NSW Rural Fire Service, NSW Volunteer Rescue Association and Marine Rescue NSW.

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott said the awards shine a light on the enormous contribution of emergency services workers.

"Emergency services workers and volunteers give so much of themselves to the community and ask so little in return. We are indebted to all our unsung heroes and will never take for granted their commitment to protecting the community," Mr Elliott said.

"These awards honour everyday Australians who have given decades of service including SES volunteer Cecil Bond of Gundagai, with 45 years' service, and Warwick Teasdale of Kilcare, with more than 43 years' service in the NSW RFS.

"This year's finalists have almost five centuries' combined service and I thank them all for their exemplary efforts."

In addition, the emergency services Commissioners will each nominate an outstanding individual for the \$1000 Dorothy Hennessy OAM Emergency Services Youth Scholarship to be decided by a Rotary NSW panel.

Winners will be announced at an Awards Presentation Dinner at the Bankstown Sports Club. Family, friends, supporters and the general public are invited to attend the presentation dinner. Tickets can purchased at: <u>www.RotaryESCawards.org.au</u>.

MEDIA: Shae McLaughlin | 0439 824 831

Service/Agency	First Name	Last Name	Community/Suburb
Fire and Rescue NSW	David	Cross	Bankstown
Fire and Rescue NSW	Matthew	Pridham	Dubbo
Fire and Rescue NSW	Adam	Richards	Central Coast
Fire and Rescue NSW	Anthony	Waller	Wollongong
Marine Rescue NSW	Raymond	Angel	Port Macquarie
Marine Rescue NSW	David	Hand	Port Jackson
Marine Rescue NSW	Kevin	Hill	Huskisson
Marine Rescue NSW	Mitchell	Harvey	Woolgoolga
NSW Ambulance	Lindsay	Court	Bankstown
NSW Ambulance	Kevin	McSweeney	Northmead
NSW Ambulance	Garth	Thomson	Albion Park
NSW Ambulance	Ben	Tory	Ashford
NSW Rural Fire	Lindi	Kingdom	Hornsby
Service			
NSW Rural Fire	Vicki	Mathews	Coonabarabran
Service			
NSW Rural Fire	Edwin	Newbery	Copmanhurst
Service			
NSW Rural Fire	Warwick	Teasdale	Killcare
Service			
NSW SES	Cecil	Bond	Gundagai
NSW SES	Leonie	Cox	Tingha
NSW SES	Peter	Dadd	Hunters Hill
NSW SES	David	Johnsun	Canada Bay
NSW VRA	Michael	Brewer	Glenn Innes
NSW VRA	Frank	Fleming	Inverell
NSW VRA	Paul	Marshall	Albury
NSW VRA	Natalie	O'Brien	Dubbo