

MEDIA RELEASE

Australian Fire Service Medal awarded to eight NSW RFS members

26 January 2022

Eight NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members have been recognised for their hard work and dedication to the community as part of the Australia Day Honours List.

The NSW RFS recipients of the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) are:

- David Bosworth, Minore Brigade
- Donald (Stuart) Farleigh, Mandalong Brigade
- Jane Hollier, Field Operations and Oakville Brigade
- · Jennifer Lawther, Callala Beach Brigade
- Brian McKenzie, Lower North Coast Support Brigade
- Jonathon McKenzie, Tallimba Brigade
- Christopher Nolan, Illawarra Zone
- Christopher Petrikas, Hawkesbury Fire Control Centre

NSW RFS Commissioner Rob Rogers congratulated the members for their exemplary service and for inspiring the next generation of firefighters.

"These eight members of the NSW RFS are a true credit to the organisation and most worthy of this honour," Commissioner Rogers said.

"Combined, they have more than 300 years of service and a lengthy list of achievements – ranging from implementing the cadet program to creating a two-way communications network for the Cobar Shire to even recruiting more members to save a brigade from extinction.

"While they don't do it for awards or accolades, it's so important that these members are recognised for their commitment to their communities and for going above and beyond to help others."