

MEDIA RELEASE

NSW RFS members recognised for their continued dedication

Thursday 15 February 2018

Hawkesbury District members have been honored by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community at a special ceremony held this evening.

Forty-seven members were presented with Long Service Medals and one member presented with a National Medal by David Clarke MLC and NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Rebel Talbert.

Mr Clarke recognised that in total, these medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 1118 years of service between them.

"This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by members to both the NSW RFS and the local community."

Assistant Commissioner Talbert gave particular mention to Peter Speet, current member of the Oakville Brigade.

"Peter has been a valued member of the NSW RFS for 60 years, after joining as a volunteer back in 1957," Assistant Commissioner Talbert said.

"Peter has had a full and committed career with the Service and is dedicated to protecting members of the Hawkesbury community, especially in his role as Group Captain, a rank he held for 28 years.

"I also congratulate Stewart Thompson from the Tennyson Brigade on his 58 years commitment.

"Stewart has actively defended the communities in the Hawkesbury and Blue Mountains areas and his dedication does not go unnoticed.

Assistant Commissioner Talbert also recognised Craig Burley as a worthy recipient of the National Medal, with 29 years of service.

"Craig has given so much to his local community since joining the Wilberforce Brigade in 1988, where he rose to the rank of Captain, then joining his local Brigade in the Colo heights area.

"Craig has also served as Chairman of the Hawkesbury District Bush Fire Management Committee since 2013.

"Today's recipients, as do all NSW RFS members, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

"It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members."

