

Cudgegong District welcomes new \$12.2 million fire and emergency operations facility

2 June 2024

The recently constructed \$12.2 million co-located Cudgegong Fire Control Centre and Emergency Operations Centre have been officially opened today by Minister for Emergency Services Jihad Dib and NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Rob Rogers AFSM.

Supporting Cudgegong District's 28 brigades and more than 1,300 volunteer members, it's the third new co-located purpose-built RFS facility, after Armidale and Tamworth. It has the technology, space and functionality to enable RFS staff to manage emergency incidents more efficiently, increasing the level of safety and community protection.

Situated close to Mudgee Airport, the new facility's location allows for close access to Air Base Operations and, in addition to office and operational areas, also houses a five-bay mitigation shed and stores building.

The previous Fire Control Centre, while having served the organisation well, was no longer fit-for-purpose and has been handed back to Mid-Western Regional Council for reuse.

Construction of the new facility began in September 2022 and was completed in November last year, with staff now fully utilizing the new space and resources. Designed to also function as an Emergency Operations Centre, the building can accommodate various agencies during major incidents such as fires, floods, and severe storms.

Local volunteers were also recognised during the ceremony with the presentation of a Humanitarian Overseas Medal, two National Emergency Medals and five National Medals.

Medal Recipients:

The Humanitarian Overseas Medal

• Sam Price - Rylstone Brigade

The National Emergency Medal

- Peter Meurer Rylstone Brigade
- Sam Price Rylstone Brigade

National Medals/Clasps

• David Nadalini - Gulgong D/C Brigade Award: 15 years diligent service National Medal

Margaret Baxter - Bogee Brigade

Award: 15 years diligent service National Medal

• Alan Selman AFSM - Mudgee HQ Brigade

Award: 45 years diligent service National Medal 3rd Clasp

NSW GOVERNMENT • James Baxter - Bogee Brigadee

Award: 15 years diligent service National Medal, 25 years diligent service National Medal 1st Clasp, 35 years diligent service National Medal 2nd Clasp & 45 years diligent service National Medal 3rd Clasp

• Barry Rohr - Piambong Brigade

Award: 45 years diligent service National Medal 4th Clasp & 55 years diligent service National Medal 5th Clasp

Minister for Emergency Services, Jihad Dib said:

"The NSW Government is committed to ensuring our emergency services and local communities have the infrastructure and resources needed for future emergencies."

"This new facility will be used by the RFS as well as other emergency services to oversee the response to large and complex fires and other emergencies in the local area.

"While the building has been operational for some months, it is wonderful to have the opportunity to celebrate this impressive new Fire Control Centre and recognise the many years of demanding work by local volunteer members.

"Congratulations to all those recognised today, including the five members who received the National Medal, who between them have a combined total of 201 years' service to the community."

Commissioner of the RFS Rob Rogers AFSM said:

"The RFS is committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the facilities and equipment they need to carry out their roles safely and effectively."

"The Centre will provide our local RFS staff and volunteers with the best facilities and technology for day-to-day operations, and increased room for additional personnel to manage major operations.

"I would like to take this time to praise our staff and all our volunteer members for their ongoing efforts every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies here in the Cudgegong District area.

"I would particularly like to mention Sam Price of the Rylstone Brigade who received the Humanitarian Overseas Medal for his service whilst on deployment to Canada in 2017, in addition to the National Emergency Medal, along with Peter Meurer, also of Rylstone Brigade, for their sustained and significant service during the 2019/20 bush fire season."

