

MEDIA RELEASE

Riverina Zone honours volunteers and celebrates new station

31 August 2018

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Riverina Zone today celebrated the achievements of long serving volunteers while celebrating the official opening of Harefield station.

NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Stuart Midgley presented long service medals to 54 volunteers and officially opened the new station.

Assistant Commissioner Midgley said the new facility at Harefield will provide enhanced support to the Brigade and local community.

"The NSW RFS are committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment and resources they need to protect their local communities," Assistant Commissioner Midgley said

"This new facility is the first dedicated fire station for the Harefield Rural Fire Brigade.

"The new station encompasses two tanker bays, training rooms, a kitchen, storerooms and a workshop."

Fifty-four Long Service medals were also presented to members of the Riverina Zone in recognition of their dedication, commitment and service to the local area.

Assistant Commissioner Midgley said the fifty-four medal recipients have accumulated a total of 2269 years of service between them.

"I'd particularly like to congratulate the six members who have given 60 or more years' service each, including Brendan Macauley from the Junee Reefs Brigade who was recognised for more than 72 years commitment," Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

"Leslie Eisenhauer must also be commended for his 71 years dedication to the Marinna Brigade, especially as he is the brigade's longest serving member.

"Each volunteer being recognised has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts," Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

"I know the Brigade and its members will continue to serve their local community for many years to come and share their knowledge, experience and firefighting skills both locally and further afield."

