

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## Sutherland District celebrates new station and honours members

## 15 September 2018

Members of the Sutherland District today celebrated the official opening of the new Sandy Point Rural Fire Brigade (RFB) station and honoured the commitment of long standing brigade members.

Member for Holsworthy Melanie Gibbons MP, Sutherland Shire Mayor Councillor Carmelo Pesce and NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Assistant Commissioner Stuart Midgley declared the \$1.55 million station open and presented Long Service and National Medals to 25 members of Sutherland District

Ms Gibbons said the new Sandy Point station, which replaces the former station built in the 1960s, was able to house modern vehicles and offered new facilities, which would help the Sandy Point RFB to provide an ever greater level of fire protection to the local community.

"This new station features vehicle bays, operations and administration office, storage areas, kitchen and amenities, dedicated training room and an outdoor terrace," Ms Gibbons said.

"We continually see how hard our skilled firefighters work to keep us safe when bush fires threaten but they're also busy away from the fireground as well, and I congratulate the Sandy Point brigade for their fundraising efforts and thank the community for their generosity which has made this station a reality."

Sutherland Shire Mayor Councillor Carmelo Pesce was impressed with the new, state-of-the-art station.

"This is the latest addition to Council's Rural Fire Station Upgrade Program and Council is committed to ensuring the NSW RFS has the necessary resources to continue to protect our community well into the future," Councillor Pesce said.

Assistant Commissioner Midgley also thanked the federal and state governments and Sutherland Shire Council for their continued support and for ensuring firefighters have the equipment, infrastructure and resources needed to provide the community with a world class level of fire protection.

During the ceremony, Assistant Commissioner Midgley presented 14 District members with Long Service Medals and 11 with National Medals, in acknowledgement of their commitment to the Service and community.

"I'd particularly like to acknowledge Rodney Crane and Peter Miranda, both members of the Heathcote/Headquarters Brigade, who have served their local communities for 42 and 40 years respectively and are worthy recipients of the National Medal," Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

"Today's recipients, as do all NSW RFS volunteers, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these honours are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts."

