

MEDIA RELEASE

NSW RFS declares start of Bush Fire Danger Period

15 August 2019

An additional nine areas will start the bush fire season early this weekend, due to continuing dry conditions.

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) has declared the nine areas across the state's north will commence the Bush Fire Danger Period from Saturday 17 August 2019 – bringing to more than 20 the number of local government areas which have commenced their bush fire season.

NSW RFS Acting Commissioner Rob Rogers said conditions remain extremely dry, and with no prospect of good rainfall, the fire danger is increasing.

"Over the past week, we've seen a number of large and fast moving fires in some of these areas, and these have destroyed homes and other buildings," Acting Commissioner Rogers said.

"The bush fire season traditionally starts statewide on 1 October each year but because of the dry conditions, and in consultation with local volunteers and other agencies, we've brought forward the start of the season in a number of areas."

The local council areas commencing their Bush Fire Danger Period from this weekend are:

- Ballina
- Byron
- Clarence Valley
- Lismore
- Tweed

- Bellingen
- Coffs Harbour
- Kyogle
- Richmond Valley

Landholders are reminded that permits are required during the Bush Fire Danger Period.

"Many people use fire to reduce the risk to their property – but if fire's not used safely, you become the fire risk," Acting Commissioner Rogers said.

"Our message is simple. Don't be the fire risk to your community.

"Get a permit, check conditions and only light up if conditions are safe. Everybody needs to think now about their bush fire survival plan.

"Have the conversation with your family about what you will do during a fire – including where you'll go, what you'll take and what you'll do with animals."

For information on making a bush fire survival plan, visit www.myfireplan.com.au or for information about permits and fire danger ratings go to www.rfs.nsw.gov.au.

