

MEDIA RELEASE

Lake George Zone celebrates dedicated volunteers

13 June 2018

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) today recognised Lake George Zone members for their unwavering commitment and dedication to serving the local community and protecting it from the threat of bush fire.

NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Jason Heffernan presented four National Medals and nine Long Service Medals to 12 recipients, in recognition of their dedication and combined 243 years of service.

"These members do not volunteer their time in return for recognition or praise, however we do gladly present them with these medals as a proud acknowledgement of their efforts," Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

"The dedication and experience of all our members is priceless and I know the community is thankful for the world-class level of fire protection afforded to them by the 21 Rural Fire Brigades within the Lake George Zone.

"Their hard work and commitment does not go unnoticed and today is a fantastic opportunity for the wider community to say thank you to all NSW RFS members."

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said it was an honour to present National Medals to Beverly Campbell-Wilson, Jan Andrews, Doug Palmer and Peter Morris and the Long Service Medal 4th Clasp to Tim Raynolds, in recognition of his 51 years of service.

"Each of the four National Medal recipients has gone above and beyond – Beverly has attended more than 200 incidents while also serving as Secretary, Treasurer and helping out with Community Engagement, Communications and Catering while Jan's contribution to the Bungendore Brigade is immeasurable," Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

"Doug is an active firefighter who is also a training officer and has also overseen the Bungendore Brigade's communications for more than 10 years while Peter has taken on the mantle of Equipment Officer, Maintenance Officer, Vice President, Deputy Captain, WHS Officer, training instructor and structural firefighter.

"It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment to reflect upon the outstanding achievements of all of these members."

