Cudgegong District is located within the Mid-Western Regional Council local government area. Cudgegong District is located approximately 120km north-west of Lithgow and is the primary combat agency for bush and grass fire incidents for this region. In addition to bush and grass fires, volunteer firefighters respond to more than 430 emergency incidents annually ranging from motor vehicle accidents and structure fires, to storm and flood damage (in support of NSW State Emergency Service) and search and rescue (in support of NSW Police).

About our district

Find out more about the NSW RFS in your area.

Latest news

All the latest news from the Cudgegong Team.

Fire information

Get information on current fires and other incidents.

Hazard reduction

Hazard reduction is an important part of preparing for bush fires. If you see smoke, it could be from a hazard reduction. You can check the location of these activities here.


Local weather conditions and information.


Information and contact details on our local brigades.

Contact us

If you've got a question, comment, suggestion or complaint, you can contact Cudgegong here.