Our Districts

Opening of the Coffs Harbour Fire Control Centre (FCC) - November 2009The NSW RFS has fire management responsibilities for over 95 percent of the landmass of the State and therefore the Service is spread across the length and breadth of NSW. A total of 45 districts are grouped into seven Area Commands.

The seven Area Commands replace the former four Regions and allow a greater focus on localised decision-making and support, especially for our volunteer firefighters.

Our seven Area Commands are:

  • Hunter
  • Western
  • Greater Sydney
  • North Western
  • South Western
  • North Eastern
  • South Eastern

In each District NSW RFS staff members assist volunteers and brigades to prepare for and respond to operational incidents.

A Fire Control Centre forms the administrative and operational base of the rural fire district or zone. You can view contact details for Fire Control Centres here.

The coordination and management of local brigade responses to fire and other incidents – including natural disasters, motor vehicle accidents and other civil emergencies – is undertaken through the Fire Control Centre.

Some of our districts are profiled below. You can find your local Brigade and District here.

Bland Temora

Our Zone is located within Bland and Temora Local Government areas which are located approximately five hours south west of Sydney.

Blue Mountains

The Blue Mountains is a unique world heritage area and also one of the most bush fire prone areas in the World.


The Canobolas Zone is located in the Central West of NSW and combines the Rural Fire Districts of Blayney, Cabonne and Orange.

Far West

The Far West Team covers the local government areas of Cobar, Central Darling, Bourke, Brewarrina and the vast Unincorporated Area of NSW, a total area of 260,000 sq kms.


The Cudgegong District is located in the Mid Western Regional Council Local Government Area.


The MIA District incorporates the six local government areas of Carrathool, Griffith, Hay, Leeton, Murrumbidgee and Narrandera.

Mid Lachlan Valley

The Mid Lachlan Valley Team (MLVT) is located in the Central West of NSW and combines the Rural Fire Districts of Forbes, Lachlan, Parkes and Weddin and commenced operations on 1 July 2001.

Mid Murray Zone

The Mid Murray Zone (MMZ) incorporates the local government areas of Murray River, Edward River, and the Murrumbidgee local government area south of Coleambally.

North West

The North West Zone and Bogan district cover the four Shires of Bogan (Nyngan), Coonamble, Walgett and Warren.


Orana Team is located in the Central Western Region of NSW incorporating the local government areas of Dubbo, Narromine and Wellington.


Shoalhaven is approximately 4660 km², spanning 160 kilometres of coast between Berry in the north to Durras Lake in the south and extends between 30km and 75km inland to the ranges encompassing extensive tracts of dissected sandstone country.

Southern Highlands

The Southern Highlands Team area is located in South Western Sydney and extends towards the Southern Highlands with its main towns of Bowral, Mittagong and Moss Vale.

South West Slopes

The South West Slopes Zone takes in the Local Government Areas of Cootamundra, Harden, Young and Boorowa.

Northern Beaches

The Northern Beaches District has approximately 1,200 volunteers that provide service to the community through effective Operations, Risk Management, Community Safety, Education and Learning and Development activities.