Share this link

Alert Levels

During a bush fire, Alert Levels are used to give you an indication of the level of threat from a fire.

Remember – don't wait for a warning. Some fires start and spread so quickly there may not be any time for a warning. If you get a Bush Fire Alert, you must take it seriously. Failure to take action can result in death or injury to you or your family members.

There are three levels of Bush Fire Alerts:

Advice Alert icon

A fire has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.

Watch and Act Alert icon

Watch And Act
There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect you and your family.

Emergency Warning Alert icon

Emergency Warning
An Emergency Warning is the highest level of Bush Fire Alert. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

For some fires, you may hear a warning message over your radio or television, such as a siren, or you may receive an Emergency Alert text message or phone call. Other fires may start so quickly that there will be no time for any warning at all.

Australian Warning System

As part of a new Australian Warning System, the way we display incidents on our website and app has changed.

The Australian Warning System is a new national approach to information and warnings during emergencies and natural disasters like bush fire, flood, storm, extreme heat and severe weather.

The System uses a nationally consistent set of icons, like those above, to show incidents on website and apps.

The System has been designed based on feedback and research across the country, and aims to deliver a more consistent approach to these types of emergencies, no matter where you are.

Australia’s fire and emergency services aim to provide you with timely and relevant information during emergencies.

Remember – don’t wait for a warning. Take action quickly and don’t delay.