$200k invested in Bland Temora Brigade Stations as locals honoured


A new era began for two Brigades in the Bland Temora area today when NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, local MP Adrian Piccoli and Mayor Rick Firman officially declared their new stations open today.

During the ceremony Commissioner Fitzsimmons praised the members from both the Mandamah and Tara Bectric Brigades for their commitment to the construction of the new Stations.

“These stations are a testament to how diligently and tirelessly volunteers from both local brigades have worked to turn their dream of a new station into a reality.
“This is the first ever Station for both the Tara Bectric Brigade and the Mandamah Brigade. Given the first RFS Brigades in the area were formed in 1939 and 1948 respectively, it is fitting that they now each have an official home.
“Both new stations were specially constructed to house their two tankers and fire fighting equipment.
“The brigades now have space to comfortably move around in their new $101,000 stations which each boast two truck bays, a kitchenette, toilet and shower.
“I’d also like to thank the Temora Shire Council who generously provided nearly $24,000 in addition to the Rural Fire Fighting Fund, towards the building of these important community assets.
The Commissioner also presented 56 locals with Long Service Medals.
“Today’s medal recipients have clocked up 2,319 years of service between them.
“Three Mandamah Brigade members have notched up more than fifty years service each; George Denyer with 53, Tom Pursehouse with 53 and Max Gordon with 56 years.
“Two members of the Tara Bectric Brigade, Bill Haddrill and Ray Perry have been Rural Fire Service volunteers for 61 and 69 years respectively – a remarkable achievement.
“All the members of these two Brigades, alongside the 56 being honoured today, are on-hand 24 hours a day, seven days a week to help protect their community.
"We are extremely proud of their work and grateful for their service and dedication," said Commissioner Fitzsimmons.