Graham brigade celebrates new station and long-serving members


A new era began for the Graham Rural Fire Brigade (RFB) when NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons officially declared their new station open today.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the new Graham Brigade station is the culmination of a number of years of hard work by its members.

"This is the Graham Brigade's first official station and a testament to how tirelessly the Graham Brigade volunteers have worked to turn their dream into a reality," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

"The brigade is understandably thrilled that they now have a place to meet and store their two trucks."
Commissioner Fitzsimmons was also honoured to present Long Service Medals to seven NSW RFS volunteers. 

"Between them, these seven Long Service Medal recipients have amassed an impressive 287 years of service," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

"This significant commitment demonstrates that the tradition of volunteering is thriving in this region.
"It is an honour to present these awards and reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members."

Commissioner Fitzsimmons also presented two appreciation plaques to two members of the local community, in recognition of the long-standing assistance they have provided to the Graham RFB.
The Graham RFB has protected the local community from bush fire since it was formed in the 1950's.
"Today, members of this Brigade continue to protect their community from bush, grass and house fires as well as motor vehicle accidents," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

"These men and women make themselves available to respond to emergencies 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and we should be extremely proud and grateful for their contribution."

"I would also like to take this opportunity to praise all our volunteers for their ongoing efforts each and every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies here in the South West Slopes Zone."

Attached files: