NSW RFS media release - Hornsby / Ku-ring-gai celebrates long serving members


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Hornsby / Ku-ring-gai District today recognised and celebrated the dedication and commitment of long serving members to the local communit

Member for Hornsby Matt Kean MP and NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons presented 55 recipients with Long Service and National Medals at a ceremony held at the Hornsby / Ku-ring-gai Fire Control Centre, in recognition of their combined total of 1292 years of service to the local community.

“These members do not volunteer their time in return for recognition or praise, however we do gladly present them with these medals as a proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Mr Kean said.

“While all the members being recognised are worthy of praise, I would like to make particular mention of Jack Barnett, who has devoted 60 years to the Service.”

“Jack, who joined the Service back in 1958 as a member of the Berowra Brigade, has been an outstanding volunteer who has taken a keen interest in fostering new members and delivering training across the Brooklyn and also Muogamarra Brigade, where he is currently Deputy Captain and continues to be a terrific mentor.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons noted five of the recipients were being acknowledged for 50 or more years’ service.

“This occasion is the perfect opportunity for the community to acknowledge and pay tribute to the efforts of local volunteers and their families,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“Their hard work and professionalism does not go unnoticed and today’s event is a good opportunity for the community to express our gratitude and say thank you to all NSW RFS members.

“We also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honour to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855