NSW RFS members awarded on Australia Day


Seven NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members have been recognised for their contributions to their local community, as part of the Australia Day Honours.

The six volunteers and one staff member have been named as recipients of the prestigious Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM). They are: 

  • Gail Jennifer Butt – Monteagle Rural Fire Brigade, Region West
  • Charles Leslie May – Nundle Rural Fire Brigade, Region North
  • Sean McArdle – Learning and Development Manager, Region South
  • Noel Waldo Scales – Upper Hunter, Region North
  • Graham John White – Eunony Rural Fire Brigade, Region South
  • Christopher August Wilhelm – Little Topar Rural Fire Brigade, Region West
  • Peter Edward Williams – Vacy Rural Fire Brigade, Region East

Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said the seven recipients have demonstrated a remarkable level of commitment to the Service and their local communities.

"On Australia Day, we celebrate all the things that make this country so great and there are few things which embody the Australian spirit more than our members," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

"Some of these members have dedicated more than 50 years to helping and protecting others.

"That's a remarkable commitment and something the whole community should be proud of.

"Our members don't do what they do for awards or accolades but this is worthy recognition of their efforts and contribution," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

Attached files: