Praise for Chifley Zone volunteer firefighters


Chifley Zone volunteer firefighters were today honoured by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons and The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC presented Long Service Medals to 25 volunteers during a ceremony at the Oberon RSL Club.

"In total, these medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 790 years of service between them," Ms Maclaren-Jones said.

"Eleven of the 25 volunteers being honoured have given more than 30 years of dedicated service to their Brigades and the local community.

"Each and every one of these volunteers is worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them for their commitment to the NSW RFS and the community at large."

Commissioner Fitzsimmons thanked the medal recipients for their commitment and dedication to providing the Chifley Zone with a world class firefighting service.

"I would like to take this time to praise all our volunteers for their ongoing efforts each and every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies in the Chifley Zone," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

"The hard work and professionalism of all Chifley Zone volunteers does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

"These volunteers dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and they could not do so without the support of their families, so we thank them also."

The Chifley Zone is home to sixteen Rural Fire Brigades which respond to bush and grass fires as well as providing fire protection during major events such as the Bathurst 1000.

Attached files: