Veteran volunteers celebrated and new station officially opened


Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant and NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons today joined volunteers in honouring the achievements of long standing Cudgegong District members and celebrating the opening of a new station at Maryvale.

Mr Grant and Commissioner Fitzsimmons presented seven National Medals and 14 Long Service Medals to volunteers at a ceremony in Cudgegong today, in recognition of their ongoing commitment to the community and the Service.

The 21 Cudgegong District volunteers have accumulated a total of 639 years of service between them.

“All of the volunteers being recognised today have devoted their time and energy to serving the local community over many years and these medals are a proud acknowledgement of their extraordinary effort and commitment,” Mr Grant said.

“Our seven National Medal recipients, Cynthia Jackson, Jeffrey Moncrieff, Mark Roth, Barry Wells, Shane Price, Bruce Stanford and Daniel Jackson are all worthy recipients, their achievements remarkable, their dedication inspiring.

“I would like to make special mention of Colin Stubbs, who is receiving the Long Service Medal 4th Clasp for his 53 years of service to the Piambong and Mullamuddy Rural Fire Brigades, while also acknowledging Alan Selman AFSM, Colin Imrie and Henry Bagnell for their four decades of service.”

Mr Grant and Commissioner Fitzsimmons also officially opened the new $82,000 Maryvale Rural Fire Brigade station, in the Orana Team area, which features two truck bays and a 22,500 litre water storage tank.

“Centrally located at the local hall, the station is the Brigade’s first purpose built facility, meaning their two tankers no longer have to be housed in private farm sheds,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“It also means the Brigade members now have a dedicated meeting and training venue and storage facility for their equipment, which will enable volunteers to provide an even greater level of emergency response when attending local grass, structure, crop and farm fires.

“The NSW RFS, working cooperatively with state and local governments, is committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the resources they need to protect the community.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons thanked all volunteers for their selfless service, noting that while members do not expect awards or accolades, they are worthy of gratitude and thanks.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855