About our area

The Far West Team covers the local government areas of Cobar, Central Darling, Bourke, Brewarrina and the vast Unincorporated Area of NSW, a total area of 260,000 sq kms. The main cities & towns include Cobar, Nymagee, Euabalong, Mt Hope, Wilcannia, Ivanhoe, Menindee, Tilpa, Broken Hill, Bourke, Brewarrina, Tibooburra, Enngonia, Louth, Byrock, Wanaaring, Goodooga and Angledool.

The population is approximately 36,000, including almost 20,000 people in Broken Hill.

Large isolated grazing properties make up 90% of the total area and national park estate covers approximately 5% of the area.

There are 50 rural fire brigades in the Far West, including a number of village brigades and many remote rural brigades.

Fire incidence in the area is related to rainfall cycles, with most rangeland fires occurring after above average rainfall. The mallee rangelands of the western division contain some of the most flammable vegetation types of semi arid Australia with major fires generally occurring every 10 years.

Our staff

Meet the staff from the NSW RFS Far West Team

Plans and reports

Local information from the NSW RFS Far West Team