Fire Danger Ratings have changed

Fire danger ratings have been simplified and give you clear actions to take.

The new Australian Fire Danger Rating System has been developed using the latest science to be more accurate and relevant to where you live. The new system will be used across the country, so whether you’re at home or traveling, you will see the same system being used.

The new Fire Danger Ratings have four levels instead of six – Moderate, High, Extreme and Catastrophic.

When there is minimal risk, such as when it's raining, 'No Rating' will be used. This is the white wedge sitting under Moderate.

There are actions for each level, so you’ll know what to do to protect your life, family and property.

You can check the daily fire danger rating on the RFS website, in the Fires Near Me NSW smartphone app, or look out for the roadside signs.

The new ratings and what you need to do


Plan and prepare.

  • Stay up to date and be ready to act if there is a fire.

Be ready to act.

  • There’s a heightened risk. Be alert for fires in your area.
  • Decide what you will do if a fire starts.
  • If a fire starts, your life and property may be at risk. The safest option is to avoid bush fire risk areas.

Take action now to protect your life and property.

  • These are dangerous fire conditions.
  • Check your bush fire plan and ensure that your property is fire ready.
  • If a fire starts, take immediate action. If you and your property are not prepared to the highest level, go to a safer location well before the fire impacts.
  • Reconsider travel through bush fire risk areas.

For your survival leave bush fire risk areas.

  • These are the most dangerous conditions for a fire.
  • Your life may depend on the decisions you make, even before there is a fire.
  • Stay safe by going to a safer location early in the morning or the night before.
  • Homes cannot withstand fires in these conditions.
  • You may not be able to leave, and help may not be available.

About the Australian Fire Danger Rating System

The Australian Fire Danger Rating System is a project of national significance. It has been delivered by the NSW Rural Fire Service on behalf of all fire and emergency services across Australia, in conjunction with the Bureau of Meteorology and AFAC.

While you may have seen the roadside signs that have changed, behind the scenes there are changes to make the ratings more accurate.

Science and the community 

The science underpinning the existing fire danger ratings has largely remained unchanged for more than 50 years.  During that time, our understanding of fire and fire behaviour has changed.

In recent years, we’ve mapped the vegetation across the entire country. So instead of the current system using just bush and grass to determine the fire danger, the new system will use eight different types of vegetation – making it more accurate.

Using the latest science, fire agencies like the NSW RFS will be able to better assess the conditions and the consequences of a fire, if one was to start.

The new national system also uses extensive community research, to deliver a simplified approach to communicating bush fire danger ratings.

Fire danger rating signs

We are progressively updating the hundreds of roadside signs across NSW. Keep an eye out for them in your local community.