2016 Emergency Service Volunteers Memorial Service


The annual Memorial service honouring those volunteers of the Emergency Services that have served the community of New South Wales and those who have died as a result of that service will be held at 11am on Sunday 9 October 2016.

The event will be hosted by The Hon. David Elliott MP, Minister for Emergency Services, adjacent to the Volunteers Memorial located in the Yurong precinct of the Sydney Domain, on the high ground northwest of the Andrew (Boy) Charlton Pool.

All NSW RFS members are invited to attend this moving tribute. View the honour roll.

On the 1st of January 1999 the Premier of New South Wales, the Honourable Bob Carr MP, announced that a memorial would be established to honour the emergency service volunteers of New South Wales, particularly those who have lost their lives as a result of that service. On the 3rd of June 2001 the Memorial was dedicated by Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC, Governor of New South Wales, at a service hosted by the Honourable Bob Debus MP, Minister for Emergency Services at the memorial site established at Mrs Macquarie’s chair.

The 87 volunteers currently named on the Memorial represent:

  • NSW Rural Fire Service
  • NSW State Emergency Service
  • NSW Volunteer Rescue Association
  • Australian Volunteer Coast Guard Association (now Marine Rescue NSW)
  • Royal Volunteer Coastal Patrol (now Marine Rescue NSW)

The annual memorial service takes place in each October, traditionally on the second Sunday.