Bandon Brigade volunteers praised for their continued dedication


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) today honoured Mid Lachlan Valley volunteers for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

A total of 19 volunteers from the Bandon Brigade were presented with Long Service Medals by NSW RFS Senior Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald AFSM.

Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald recognised that in total, these Medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 803 years of service between them.

“This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by Mid Lachlan Valley volunteers to both the NSW RFS and the local community,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“Notably three of the recipients today have given 55 or more years each in service to their communities.”
Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald gave particular mention of Merve Langfield from the Bandon Brigade for his 72 years service.

“Merve joined the Rural Fire Service in 1946, originally with the Greenethorpe Brigade and has always been a committed, valued member,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“I also congratulate Ula Langfield on being a worthy recipient, a member whose vast local knowledge has been appreciated since she joined in 1961.”

Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald also praised Robert Wythes, a current member of the Bandon Brigade, who has given 55 years’ service to protecting the communities he has lived in since 1963.

“Today’s recipients, as do all NSW RFS volunteers, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honour to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855