Bega District honours volunteers and celebrates new stations


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Bega District today celebrated the achievements of veteran volunteers while celebrating the official opening of three stations in the region.

Member for Bega Andrew Constance and NSW RFS Senior Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald AFSM attended three ceremonies across Burragate, Pambula and Merimbula.

Mr Constance said the new facilities at Burragate and Pambula, along with the extensions to the Merimbula station, provided enhanced support to Bega District volunteers and the communities they protect.

“As the Member for Bega I am proud the state and local government are continuing to invest in the community and I congratulate the Burragate, Pambula and Merimbula Brigades on their fundraising efforts which have made these stations a reality,” Mr Constance said

“The investment of $380,000 across these three stations delivers more facilities for volunteers and will enable them to provide a higher level of protection to the communities they serve.”

Twenty-three National Medals were also presented to members at Pambula and Merimbula in recognition of their dedication, commitment and service to the local area.

Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said the 23 medal recipients have accumulated a total of 804 years of service between them.

“I’d particularly like to congratulate the five members who have given 50 or more years’ service, including Robert Thatcher from the Jellat Brigade who was recognised for more than 59 years commitment,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“Harman Kampman must also be commended for his 58 years dedication to the Candelo Brigade, especially as he has held the role of Captain since 1975.

“Each volunteer being recognised has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“I know these Brigades will continue to serve their local communities for many years to come and share their knowledge, experience and firefighting skills both locally and further afield.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855