Bland Temora Zone honours volunteers and celebrates new station


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Bland Temora Zone today celebrated the achievements of long serving volunteers while celebrating the official opening of Narraburra station.

State Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke MP and NSW RFS Chief Superintendent John Parnaby presented long service medals to volunteers and officially opened the new station.

Ms Steph Cooke said the new facility at Narraburra will provide enhanced support to the Brigade and community of Narraburra.

“The NSW RFS and state and local governments are committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment and resources they need to protect their local communities,” Ms Cooke said

“With the brigade continuing to grow, the new station will provide more facilities for volunteers to utilise.”

Seven Long Service medals were also presented to members of the Bland Temora Zone in recognition of their dedication, commitment and service to the local area.

Chief Superintendent Parnaby said the seven medal recipients have accumulated a total of 316 years of service between them.

“I’d particularly like to congratulate the seven members who have given 40 or more years’ service each, including Barry Wiencke from the Narraburra Brigade who was recognised for more than 60 years commitment,” Chief Superintendent Parnaby said.

“John Morton must also be commended for his 43 years dedication to the Narraburra Brigade, especially as he held the role of Treasurer for an astounding 38 years.

“Each volunteer being recognised has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Chief Superintendent Parnaby said.

“I know the Brigade and its members will continue to serve their local community for many years to come and share their knowledge, experience and firefighting skills both locally and further afield.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855