Blue Mountains District honours long serving volunteers


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Blue Mountains District today celebrated the dedication and commitment of long serving members to the local community.

Shayne Mallard MLC and NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Stuart Midgley presented nine National Medals and 21 Long Service Medals to 30 recipients at a ceremony held at the Mid Mountains Community Centre.

“The members being honoured today have together dedicated 660 years of service to the local community and these medals are acknowledge their tireless devotion to protecting the Blue Mountains from fire and other emergencies,” Mr Mallard said.

“Lindsay Williams, Peter Lang, Paula Metcalfe, Sarah Elliott, Robert Offner, Mark Roberts, Wayne Foster, Peter Belshaw and Andrew Kaye are worthy recipients of the National Medal, which is awarded to members of the Service who go above and beyond.

“This region knows the threat bush fire poses and it is heartening to know that people such as those being honoured to today are ready and willing to protect the community.”

Assistant Commissioner Midgley said six of the medal recipients had devoted more than 30 years of service to their brigades and the local community.

“Every one of the 30 people being honoured today has our gratitude and I would like to make special mention of Frank Vincent, awarded the Long Service Medal 4th Clasp in recognition of his 50 years of service to communities across the Blue Mountains,” Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

“Frank has been an active member since joining the then Mt Victoria Bush Fire Brigade in 1968 and has held the positions of Group Captain, Deputy Group Officer, Brigade President and Vice President.”

Assistant Commissioner Midgley said the occasion was the perfect opportunity for the community to acknowledge and pay tribute to the efforts of local volunteers and their families.

“Their hard work and professionalism does not go unnoticed and today’s event allows us as a community to express our gratitude and say thank you to all NSW RFS members,” Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855