Bush Fire Danger Period now in place for most of NSW


All but nine local government areas of NSW will be in the bush fire season from tomorrow as the recent wet weather continues to build on grass fire concerns.

NSW Commissioner Rob Rogers said the majority of state will be in the Bush Fire Danger Period from Friday 1 October 2021 with only a handful in southern NSW starting on the first of next month.

“With the Bureau of Meteorology continuing to forecast wetter than average conditions through spring we are expecting to see strong grass and crop growth particularly in areas west of the divide. Commissioner Rogers said.

“As we enter the warmer months this will begin dry out and may prove problematic for both landholders and firefighters.

“Grass fires typically move three times quicker than bush fires and can impact on lives and livelihoods with little to no warning.

“It is important that we all understand our level of risk and prepare accordingly.

“Now is the time to review you plans, prepare your properties and have the conversation with your family about what you will do during a fire – talk about when you’ll leave, where you’ll go, what you’ll take and what you’ll do with animals.”

The remaining nine local government areas will commence their Bush Fire Danger Period on 1 November.

“Anyone wishing to light a fire during the Bush Fire Danger Period must obtain a free permit in addition to notifying their local fire authority and neighbours 24 hours before lighting up,” Commissioner Rogers said.

“While hazard reductions are an important part of preparations, landholders need to be extremely careful, as escaped burns can lead to heavy penalties.

“If a fire does escape, make sure you call Triple Zero (000) immediately so that emergency services can respond and minimise the damage.”

For details on making a bush fire survival plan visit www.myfireplan.com.au

For information about the Bush Fire Danger Period, go to www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/BFDP

To notify of your intent to burn, use the online burn notification tool at www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/notify.

The following nine (9) LGAs commence their Bush Fire Danger Period 1 November 2021:

› Snowy Valleys

› Albury City

› Junee

› Berrigan

› Coolamon

› Lockhart

› Federation

› Greater Hume

› Wagga Wagga

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855