Celebrations for Far South Coast Team with veteran volunteers and the opening of new facilities


Celebrations were held today for the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Far South Coast Team, with Member for Bega Andrew Constance and NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Steve Yorke AFSM recognising the achievements of veteran volunteers and the opening of new facilities at three separate ceremonies across the region.

Mr Constance congratulated volunteer firefighters and staff for carrying out the important work they do to protect their local communities.

“Each of the volunteers recognised today have demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community over the years and these medals and new facilities are an acknowledgement of their efforts,” Mr Constance said.

NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Steve Yorke congratulated the Buckajo Brigade on the opening of their new station which features two truck bays, meeting room, kitchen and bathroom.

“This station is a testament to how diligently and tirelessly the Buckajo Brigade volunteers have worked to turn their dream of a new station into a reality,” Assistant Commissioner Yorke said.

A second ceremony held at the Bega Fire Control Centre officially opened extensions completed last year.

“This fully operational Control Centre, with extensions worth $330,000 comes with a new Incident Control room, kitchen and bathroom amenities; a facility that can also be used by other agencies and volunteer groups,” Assistant Commissioner Yorke said.

The celebrations continued with the opening of the new Numbugga Rural Fire Brigade Station and the presentation of 23 National Medals and Clasps to members of the Far South Coast Team.

“This new Numbugga Station will provide secure parking with two bays for firefighting vehicles and equipment; members will also benefit from new amenities including a kitchen and bathroom,” Assistant Commissioner Yorke said.

Members from Angledale/Stoney Creek, Bemboka, Bermagui, Brogo, Cobargo, Numbugga, Tarraganda and Quamama Brigades were acknowledged with National Medals for their years of diligent service, going above and beyond what is expected of active members within their Brigades.

“Notably four of the recipients today have given more than 50 years each in service to their communities. While our volunteers certainly don't expect awards or accolades, all of them are most worthy of our sincere gratitude and thanks,” Assistant Commissioner Yorke said.

“Congratulations to Brian Ayliffe on 60 dedicated years to the Service, an active member of the Cobargo Brigade since first joining in 1957.

“Special mention must also be given to Bemboka Brigade member Leslie Preston, who has been fighting fires and protecting the community since 1952. Leslie is being recognized for an amazing 65 years with the Service.

“Sadly one long standing Bemboka Brigade member, Neil Moon, has passed away. Our deepest sympathies are with Neil’s family as we pay tribute to the 40 years of service with his posthumous award.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855