Celebrations for Goobarragandra Brigade with station opening and new fire truck


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Riverina Highlands Zone have recognised the achievements of volunteers while celebrating the official opening of a new fire station and the handover of a new vehicle today.

At a ceremony held at the new Goobarragandra Rural Fire Brigade Station, member for Wagga Wagga Daryl Maguire and NSW RFS Regional Manager Chief Superintendent Ken Hall congratulated the members of the Goobarragandra Brigade on the official opening of their new facility.

“This is a completely new station and location to the Brigade’s former facility,” Mr Maguire said.

“The station features a single bay and due its remote location near the Kosciuszko National Park, power will be sourced from a special solar system and amenities shared with the neighbouring Camp Hudson, a National Parks and Wildlife facility next door.

“Funded by the Rural Fire Fighting Fund, this new station is worth $40,000 but to the members of this brigade, it is a priceless resource.”

Chief Superintendent Hall said this station will enable volunteers to provide an even greater level of protection to the local community.

“Due to its location near one of the primary access points into the Kosciusko National Park, this new station could also be utilised as a forward control point or a staging area during fires or other emergencies,” Chief Superintendent Hall said.

During the ceremony a new Category 7 tanker was also officially handed over to the Goobarragandra Brigade, worth more than $180,000.

"This new vehicle, replacing an older style model, will enable the brigade to continue their outstanding work, and I would personally like to congratulate everybody on their ongoing hard work and professionalism,” Chief Superintendent Hall said.

“The NSW RFS, state and local governments are committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment they need to carry out the important work they do to protect their local communities from fire.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855