Celebrations for NSW RFS North West Zone


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Region West Manager Paul Smith recognised the achievements of veteran volunteers and the opening of a new station at two ceremonies held today in the region.

Mr Smith congratulated the Coolabah Brigade on the opening of their new station which features two truck bays, kitchen, bathroom and storage areas.

“This station may have cost $145,000 but to the Brigade and the community it protects it is a priceless resource,” Mr Smith said.

At the ceremony in Coolabah, Mr Smith acknowledged four Bogan District volunteer firefighters for carrying out the important work they do to protect their local communities.

“Each of the volunteers recognised today have demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community over the years and these Long Service Medals and new station are just some ways to show appreciation for the level of service they provide,” Mr Smith said.

“Dennis Hall must be commended for his 61 years with the Bobadah Brigade. Since joining in 1956, he has been a valued member and held the position of Deputy Captain.”

At a second ceremony at the Nyngan Fire Control Centre, Mr Smith also presented Long Service Medals to volunteers from the Bogan and Warren Districts.

“Notably seven of the recipients today have given more than 60 years each in service to their communities. While our volunteers certainly don't expect awards, all of them are most worthy of our sincere gratitude and thanks,” Mr Smith said.

“Congratulations to Gordon Wye who joined the Mudal Brigade in 1950 and East Bogan Brigade in 1955. With 67 amazing years of service he is a well respected member of the Bogan District.

“Also with 67 years dedication is George Harley. A member of the Bobadah Brigade since 1950, he continues to be an active member and is currently Brigade President.

“Sadly, one award was presented posthumously, with Jim Marr’s family receiving the Long Service Medal for his 63 dedicated years as a valued member of the Buckiinguy Lemongrove Brigade.

“All recipients must be commended on their dedication, commitment and service to the local community.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855