Celebrations for NSW RFS State Championship winners


The exceptional performances seen in the 2018 NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) State Championships was celebrated this afternoon with the announcement of winners and the official handover of the major prize, a new community support vehicle for the Hawkesbury District.

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said volunteers competed across the weekend in a series of simulated emergency situations where their skills and equipment were put to the test, at the event held in Temora.

“With scenarios ranging from simulated motor vehicle accidents to bush, grass and structure fires, all competing teams demonstrated their training, dedication and professionalism,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

‘Congratulations to the Oakville Brigade team from the Hawkesbury District on their victory in the senior category.

“The Oakville Brigade team were crowned State Champions after competing against 13 other teams.

“Well done also to Gundagai High Cadets team from the Riverina Highlands Zone on their win, going up against eleven other teams in the junior category.

“The level of dedication and skill shown by these junior members demonstrates the future of the Service is in good hands.

“Thank you to the volunteers competing who have travelled from all around NSW and those working behind the scenes to make this year’s State Championships another successful event.”

The Oakville Brigade team have won the use of an Isuzu D-Max vehicle for use over a two year period to assist firefighters in protecting their local communities, provided by event Principal Partners Gilbert & Roach Huntingwood and Isuzu Trucks.

The NSW RFS State Championships are held every two years in various locations across NSW, with the next to be held within the Illawarra District in 2020.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855