Celebrations for Schofields Rural Fire Brigade on 75th anniversary


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members will gather tomorrow night to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Schofields Rural Fire Brigade (RFB) and honour the long-standing dedication and commitment to protecting the community by its members.

Member for Riverstone Kevin Conolly and NSW RFS District Manager Superintendent Simon Davis will congratulate members past and present for building the Brigade into the community institution it is today.

“Formed back in 1944, this Brigade has a proud history of community service and spirit,” Mr Conolly said.

“Over the years, this brigade has put in a lot of effort developing its members and strengthening its relationship with the community.

“Today, the brigade 70 strong responds to a wide range of emergency incidents ranging from bush and grass fires, to motor vehicle accidents and structure fires, to lending a helping hand at community and fundraising events and helping residents prepare for the fire season.

Superintendent Davis said long serving volunteers will also be acknowledged with the presentation of seven NSW RFS Long Service Medals and two National Medals, to seven recipients representing a combined 172 years of service.

“I’d particularly like to mention Clive Sayers on his 51 years and Phillip Beath on 32 years’ service to the brigade and community, both being recognised for their long service and receiving National Medals,” Superintendent Davis said.

“The hard work and professionalism of NSW RFS members does not go unnoticed and while they do not ask for praise, we should take this milestone to acknowledge their contribution and commitment.”

Superintendent Davis said the Cumberland Zone is afforded a world-class level of fire protection due to the experience and dedication of its 17 Rural Fire Brigades.

“We must also thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of these and all volunteers, we know it takes their support to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do,” Superintendent Davis said.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855