Celebrations for Shoalhaven's long-standing volunteer firefighters


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons has congratulated volunteers from the Cunjurong Point Rural Fire Brigade on their dedication to the community, at a ceremony marking the brigade's 40th anniversary.


Commissioner Fitzsimmons paid tribute to the members' commitment to their brigade, presenting two volunteers with Long Service Medals.

"Over the years, volunteers from the Cunjurong Point Brigade have assisted with all manner of emergencies. Whilst their expertise may lie with fighting bush and grass fires, all too often these volunteers are called upon night and day to respond to traffic accidents and to assist other agencies when needed.

"This brigade has remained on-hand and ready to help others for close to half a century, an inspirational demonstration of their standing in the community.

"The members' training and professionalism has served them well both locally here on the South Coast, but also much farther afield, like we saw recently when local RFS volunteers headed to Wagga Wagga to assist the State Emergency Service with flood operations.

"This level of selfless contribution is a reflection of calibre of volunteers we are fortunate to have in the Service, and the drive that they have to helping others – often in times of danger and despair."

As part of the formal ceremony, Commissioner Fitzsimmons presented Colin Gladman and Donald Turnbull with Long Service Medals, acknowledging their hard work and enthusiasm.

"Don signed up to the RFS back in 1982 and has since held positions such as Senior Deputy Captain and Captain. His active and keen interest is inspirational, and he is a true asset to the community. Similarly, Colin is being recognised today for 10 years service – a sign that the tradition of volunteering is still thriving in this region.

"These gentlemen are shining examples of the resolute commitment demonstrated by RFS volunteers right across the state, and I would personally like to thank all of the members here today and their families for their ongoing efforts." Commissioner Fitzsimmons concluded.


Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855