Clarence Valley volunteers’ commitment praised


Longstanding volunteers from the Clarence Valley District were honoured today by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

Chief Superintendent Brett Condie presented 63 volunteers with their Long Service and National Medals as well as acknowledged their unfailing dedication to the Service during a ceremony held at Clarence Valley Fire Control Centre.

“In total, these Long Service Medals and National Medal recipients have accumulated 1,479 years of service between them,” Chief Superintendent Condie said.

“Each and every one of these volunteers are worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Chief Superintendent Condie made particular mention of John Harvey AFSM, who has been a valued member of the Service for 62 years.

“John joined the NSW RFS in 1954 and has fulfilled the roles of brigade Captain, Senior Deputy Captain and Deputy Captain with the Ashby Brigade. John served as a Group Captain from 2003 until his retirement in 2010, he was voted to receive the title of Group Captain Retired,” Chief Superintendent Condie said.

Chief Superintendent Condie said the 36 brigades in the Clarence Valley area respond to a range of bush, grass and house fires, as well as motor vehicle accidents and other emergencies, each year.

“The NSW RFS is at the cutting edge of bush firefighting due to significant improvements in technology, training, equipment and communications, however the real strength of the Service is its people,” Chief Superintendent Condie said.

“These men and women have been part of the Service during an incredible period of growth and transformation and the experience and knowledge within their ranks illustrates this. 

“All of the volunteers here today have demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community over the years and these medals are just a small token of our appreciation.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855