Cudgegong volunteers’ commitment praised


Longstanding volunteers from the Cudgegong were honoured today by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community

Senior Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald presented 25 volunteers with their Long Service Medals and acknowledged their unfailing dedication to the Service during a ceremony held at Rylstone Rural Fire Station.

“In total, these 25 Long Service Medal recipients have accumulated 556 years of service between them,” Snr Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“Each and every one of these volunteers are worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Snr Assistant Commissioner McDonald made particular mention of Daniel Jackson and Alan Heath, who have both been valued members of the Service for 47 years.

“Daniel joined the NSW RFS at 16 and has never looked back, rising to the ranks of Captain over the 47 years of dedicated service,” Snr Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“Alan has been the backbone of the Crudine Brigade holding the position of captain for close to 30years. Alan has seen enormous advancement of fire fighting in rural areas since he has joined and has been a vital part of the firefighting effort in the local community.

Snr Assistant Commissioner McDonald said the 26 brigades in the Cudgegong area respond to a range of bush, grass and house fires, as well as motor vehicle accidents and other emergencies, each year.

“The NSW RFS is at the cutting edge of bush firefighting due to significant improvements in technology, training, equipment and communications, however the real strength of the Service is its people,” Snr Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“These men and women have been part of the Service during an incredible period of growth and transformation and the experience and knowledge within their ranks illustrates this. 

“All of the volunteers here today have demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community over the years and these medals are just a small token of our appreciation.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855