Dondingalong Brigade celebrates 75th anniversary


Member for Oxley Melinda Pavey MP and NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Assistant Commissioner Jason Heffernan joined members past and present today to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Dondingalong Rural Fire Brigade.

At a special event held at the brigade station, Ms Pavey said the Dondingalong Brigade located within the Lower North Coast Zone was formed in December 1942 by the Dondingalong Branch of the Primary Producers Union.

“Since its humble beginnings, we have watched the Dondingalong Brigade go from strength to strength, improving their equipment and increasing the proficiency and experience of its members,” Ms Pavey said.

“Today, the Brigade responds to incidents locally and further afield while also engaging with the local community to increase the protection of local residents.”

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said Dondingalong is known as a Brigade that can be counted on to lend a hand.

“Brigade members have fought fires in very trying conditions, including being the first unit to respond to the Sandy Creek Road fire in February this year,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“With over 70 members, this brigade responds not only to bush and grass fires within the area and interstate, but also motor vehicle accidents and assists other agencies following storm and flood activity like in Lismore earlier this year.

“The Brigade also participates annually in Clean Up Australia Day and other great community initiatives.”
Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said the respect afforded to members of the Dondingalong Brigade is testament to the dedication of both past and present members.

“Each and every one of these volunteers is worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to their Brigade and the Service, but also to their community,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“It is the dedication of all members that will see the Dondingalong Brigade maintain a strong presence in the community into the future.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855