Hawkesbury RFS members honoured for dedicated service


The dedication and commitment of more than 80 RFS volunteers from across the Hawkesbury District will be recognised tonight with the presentation of Medals recognising their service.

RFS Deputy Commissioner Peter McKechnie will join special guests, RFS members and their family and friends at Panthers North Richmond to celebrate the achievements.

Deputy Commissioner McKechnie said the volunteers being awarded had together given a total of more than 1,900 years of service to the community.

“The 54 members being recognised tonight with Long Service Medals and clasps range from 11 to 69 years of service,” he said.

“I would like to make special mention of Julia Petrikas, a Life Member of the Tennyson Rural Fire Brigade, who is recognised for an impressive 69 years of dedicated service.

“Julia has been a member of the Brigade since 1954, originally supporting her late husband Dick who was a founding member and more recently has been acknowledged for her significant contributions during the 2019/2020 fire season.

Deputy Commissioner McKechnie will also present a further 28 National Medals for those who have gone above and beyond what is expected of members, and six National Emergency Medals for service across the 2019/20 fire season.

“Members of the Hawkesbury District have always answered the call, not only assisting with incidents locally but across the state,” he said.

“The RFS members being celebrated tonight have and continue to give their time, to not only protect their communities, but to carry out critical behind-the-scenes work, like catering and planning, which enables our frontline firefighters to do their job.

Deputy Commissioner McKechnie also acknowledged those who support the volunteers receiving awards.

“I thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of all RFS volunteers,” he said.

“We know it takes their ongoing support and patience to assist and enable our volunteers to do what they do to save lives and property.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855