Hawkesbury volunteers recognised for service


Forty Five members of the Hawkesbury's NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) have had their long and dedicated service recognised at a ceremony held in their honour.

Presenting the volunteers with their Long Service Medals, NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Keith Harrap congratulated them on their hard work and commitment.

"Each of these 45 volunteers has served their brigade with distinction, and together they have accumulated more than 1000 years of service which is an admirable achievement.

"I would particularly like to pay tribute to Roger Bean who sadly passed away earlier this year. Roger was a foundation member of the Mountain Lagoon Brigade when it was established in 1968 and his contribution was unwavering.

"Roger's skills and expertise led him into the roles of Deputy Captain and Senior Deputy Captain before being appointed Captain in 1998, and his commitment to brigade training was inspiring.

"It is an honour for me to present Roger's Long Service Medal to his daughters Sandra and Narelle, and I thank them for representing their father tonight," said Assistant Commissioner Harrap.

"Whilst everyone here tonight is worthy of our thanks and gratitude, I would like to acknowledge the seven medal recipients who have been with their brigades for over 30 years, and the two members celebrating more than 50 years service.

"Kenneth Clewett and Lawrence Duffy have been with the Grose Vale Brigade for 55 and 56 years respectively and are both sons of two of the brigade's founders.

"This level of community service is something that everyone in the Hawkesbury District should be rightly proud".

Assistant Commissioner Harrap said that the region is well supported by its 21 volunteer firefighting brigades.

"As well as the significant bush fire activity this area has seen over the years, these men and women remain on hand around the clock assisting with all manner of emergencies, from road accidents to house fires. I know they don't volunteer for awards or accolades, but this is an opportunity to express sincere gratitude for their ongoing contribution," Assistant Commissioner Harrap concluded.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855