Hawkesbury volunteers show off skills in friendly competition


Teams of NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) volunteer firefighters converged on Windsor’s Macquarie Park today to showcase their firefighting and emergency management skills at the Hawkesbury Rural Fire District Annual Championships.

Senior Electorate Officer, Councillor Robyn Preston and NSW RFS Senior Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald AFSM congratulated all competitors and the members of four Brigades receiving new vehicles.

Local crews, joined by NSW RFS Cadets from local schools and neighbouring districts, participated in a variety of events, each designed to demonstrate their broad skill-set, gain valuable experience and enjoy some friendly competition.

Senior Electorate Officer, Councillor Robyn Preston said the annual championships give volunteers the opportunity to hone their skills, learn new techniques, share ideas and catch up with fellow firefighters.

“These exercises provide a safe learning environment in which crews can practice their firefighting drills and learn from one another,” Ms Preston said.

Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said it was a wonderful opportunity for members to get together, demonstrate their proficiency and strengthen their networks.

“I thank everyone who made the effort to come along and take part in today’s event and I would also like to congratulate the winning teams on their tremendous efforts.”

NSW RFS Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald and Ms Preston also presented the District with four new firefighting vehicles.

“The new Category One tankers will replace existing vehicles used by the Wilberforce, Bilpin, Tennyson and Oakville Brigades,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

"These new vehicles with a combined value of over $1.24 million are replacing older style models, allowing firefighters to continue providing a high level of emergency service to the residents of the Hawkesbury District.

"The NSW RFS is committed to providing its volunteer firefighters with the equipment needed to undertake their important work protecting local communities.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855