Hornsby Ku-Ring-Gai firefighters commended for service


A group of longstanding NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) volunteers were awarded for many years of diligent service to their brigades and local communities in an official ceremony tonight.

NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Dominic Lane said Mr David Miller was being awarded a Long Service medal for 51 years service and he was joined by 48 other volunteers from the Hornsby Ku-Ring-Gai area.

"Mr Miller has been a dedicated member for more than five decades and during that time he has held a variety of senior roles within the Berowra Brigade from Deputy Captain to Treasurer.

"One of the things that make the Service is that it becomes such an important part of people's lives and we often see many generations of the same family fighting fires together.

"These ladies and gentlemen have shown exceptional commitment to their local community by amassing almost 1000 years of service between them, an outstanding effort for just 49 individuals," said Assistant Commissioner Lane.

Assistant Commissioner Lane went on to commend three members who are receiving medals for more than 30 years service today: Mr Alisdair McIntosh, Graham Tait and Timothy Maffey.

"Since Mr McIntosh joined the Dural Bush Fire Brigade in 1976 he has been an active member, playing a key role in hazard reduction burns, brigade training and meetings as well as attending major fires throughout NSW.

"Mr Tait became a member in 1977 and his fellow firefighters at the Cherrybrook Brigade describe him as a loyal, competent and conscientious member who always gives freely of his time and energy.

"Mr Maffey has given a great deal of time to the NSW RFS striving to improve training, equipment and public education. He is also actively involved in fundraising through Rotary and educates land holders about fire management through the Firewise Program.

"Each and every one of the volunteers here today is worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally praise them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also their community," said Assistant Commissioner Lane.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855