Hunter District members recognised for service


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Hunter Valley District will today applaud the achievements of dedicated volunteers from the Hunter area with the presentation of medals and badges in honour of long service, appreciation and dedication at an official ceremony being held in Denman.

Following the presentation of medals to members in the District last weekend in Singleton, a further 105 National Emergency Medals, three National Medals, four Long Service Medals, four Interstate and International Deployment Pins and one Canadian International Deployment Pin will be presented to volunteers.

NSW RFS District Manager Inspector Mark Denton will join guests at Denman RSL Club to mark the occasion and said the National Emergency Medal was awarded to persons who rendered sustained or significant service during nationally-significant emergencies in Australia.

“Members of the Hunter Valley District played an integral part in the firefighting response during the 2019/20 fire season and rose to the challenge to protect communities,” he said.

“The members being recognised today with long service and national medals and or clasps range from 10 to 33 years of service, with a special mention of Robert Searle who is receiving his Long Service Medal 1st and 2nd Clasps for 33 year after joining the Baerami Brigade in 1985.”

“I would like to take this time to praise all our volunteers for their ongoing efforts each and every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies here in the Hunter Valley area,” Inspector Denton said.

“The hard work and professionalism of all NSW RFS members does not go unnoticed and while they do not ask for praise, we should take this opportunity to acknowledge their contribution and commitment to their community.

“We also thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of all NSW RFS volunteers. We know it takes their ongoing support and patience to assist and enable our volunteers to do what they do to save lives and property.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855