Hunter Valley welcomes almost $1 million investment in fire stations


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Hunter Valley District will tomorrow celebrate the achievements of veteran volunteers while celebrating the official opening of two new stations.

NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM will join brigade members at two ceremonies to mark the occasion for both the Goorangoola and Mt Royal Brigades.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said both of these brand new stations were a first for the brigades and each site is located on land that has been generously donated by local brigade members.

“I know the dedicated volunteers will put these new facilities to good use,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“The investment of more than $980,000 across these two stations delivers more facilities for volunteers and will enable them to provide a higher level of protection to the communities they serve.

“I would also like to thank Singleton Council for their significant financial contribution as well.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said both stations feature two truck bays, kitchen, outdoor areas, storeroom and solar power system.

Fifty-five members will also be recognised across both ceremonies for their dedication, commitment and service to the local area.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the 55 NSW RFS Long Service Medal recipients have accumulated a total of 1,379 years of service between them.

“I’d particularly like to congratulate the three members who have given 50 or more years’ service, including Whittingham Brigade member Col Pike on his 62 years,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“Well done also to Goorangoola Brigade members Ian Bower on his 52 years and Neil Richards for his 51 years commitment.

“I would like to take this time to praise all our volunteers for their ongoing efforts each and every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies here in the Hunter Valley Districts.

“We also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855