Illawarra District recognises dedicated long serving RFS volunteers


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Illawarra District today celebrated the achievements dedicated volunteers with the presentation of 33 long service and national medals to volunteers.

NSW RFS Deputy Commissioner, Kyle Stewart, joined State Member for Shellharbour, Anna Watson MP, State Member for Wollongong, Paul Scully MP and other special guests to mark the occasion.

Deputy Commissioner Stewart said the 33 recipients had together given a total of 1,099 years of service to the community.

“The members being recognised today with long service medals and clasps or national medals range from 18 to 53 years of service with a special mention of Brian Arberry of Gerringong Brigade for his 53 years of service to the NSW RFS and receipt of his long service medal 3rd and 4th clasp.”

“Today we also congratulate 20 other exceptional Illawarra District volunteers with national medals which are earned for long service which has gone above and beyond normal expectations,” he said.

Deputy Commissioner Stewart congratulated each of the Illawarra District volunteers on their dedication, commitment and service to their communities.

“You only have to look at 2019/20 season to see how hard our skilled firefighters and support crews work to keep us safe when fires and emergency situations threaten. Last season, many of these volunteers were also helping with grass fires and flood rescues,” he said.

He added the NSW RFS is committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment, infrastructure and resources they need to carry out the important work of protecting their local communities from fire and a diverse array of incidents.

“I would like to take this time to praise all our volunteers for their ongoing efforts each and every day, particularly when dealing with emergencies here in the Illawarra District.

“We also thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of all NSW RFS volunteers. We know it takes their ongoing support and patience to assist and enable our volunteers to do what they do to protect our communities and to save lives.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855