Illawarra volunteers recognised for their continued dedication


Illawarra District volunteers were today honored by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

A total of 23 volunteers were presented with Long Service Medals and eleven volunteers were presented with National Medals by NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons recognised that in total, these Medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 732 years of service between them.

“This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by Illawarra District volunteers to both the NSW RFS and the local community,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“Notably four of the recipients today have given more than 35 years each in service to their communities.

“I’d like to give particular mention to Bruce O’Dea from the Dapto Brigade, who has been a valued member of the NSW RFS for 43 years, after joining in 1974.

“I also congratulate Philip Robertson and Andrew Ware from the Keira Brigade on being worthy recipients of the National Medal, with 38 years of service each.

“Through that time they have gone above and beyond what is expected and I thank them for all their work.

“Since joining the Service in 1981, James Chevis should also be highlighted for the time he has given to first the Oakdale and now Keira Brigades over the last 36 years.

Members from Bulli, Dapto, Farmborough Heights, Helensburgh, Illawarra Support, Jamberoo, Mt Keira and Otford Brigades were acknowledged for their years of diligent service.

“Today’s recipients, as do all NSW RFS volunteers, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“The hard work and professionalism of all Illawarra District volunteers does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of all these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855