Lake George Zone volunteers honoured


Bronnie Taylor MLC and NSW Rural Fire Service Chief Superintendent Ken Hall today honoured Lake George Zone volunteers for their longstanding commitment to the local community.

Ms Taylor and Chief Superintendent Hall presented six National Medals and 17 Long Service Medals to volunteers, who have dedicated a combined total of 437 years to protecting Lake George residents from fire.

“The dedication of all the volunteers being recognised is inspiring but I would like to make particular mention of Bernard ‘Geoff’ McGrath, who has received the Long Service Medal 3rd Clasp in recognition of his 45 years of service,” Ms Taylor said.

“I would also like to acknowledge Andrew Hearney, who is being awarded the National Medal in recognition of his service to both the Queanbeyan City and Ridgeway Brigades, where he has filled a number of roles ranging from equipment officer to Captain.”

“Each and every one of these volunteers are worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Chief Superintendent Ken Hall thanked National Medal recipients Keith Smith, Wayne Dalton, Daniel Barwick, Adam Atkinson and Craig Thomas-Schumacher as well as all of the Long Service medal recipients for their commitment to the Service.

“The hard work and professionalism of all Lake George Zone volunteers does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you,” Chief Superintendent Hall said.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of all these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.”

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855