Long serving Blue Mountains District volunteers honoured


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) volunteers from across the Blue Mountains District have been honoured for their longstanding commitment to the local community at a special medal presentation this evening.

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM presented 62 Long Service Medals and four National Medals to volunteers in recognition of their service and dedication to the community.

“In total, this represents 1492 years of combined service across the Blue Mountains District,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“There are six members at this evenings presentation who have each given 40 or more years’ service to their Brigades and their communities.

“The dedication of all the volunteers being recognised is inspiring but I would like to make particular mention of Maxwell Sewell of the Hazelbrook Brigade, who has received the Long Service Medal 1st, 2nd, 3rd Clasps in recognition of his 45 years of service.

“Max joined the Brigade in 1972 and has held many positions through the years, most recently Vice President from 2009 till 2012.

“Made a Life Member in 1989, Max’s local knowledge and experience is highly valued, having been involved in all major fires in the Blue Mountains since joining.

“I would also like to acknowledge Allan Catt of the Hazelbrook Brigade, who is being recognised for his 42 years’ active service.

“A current Group Captain and key member of the Districts’ Training Team, Allan continues to respond to incidents across the Blue Mountains, NSW and interstate.

“Well done also to Kenneth Phillips, who over his 42 years with the Winmalee Brigade has continued to look after his local area since joining in 1975.

“Every one of these volunteers are worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the hard work and professionalism of all Blue Mountain District volunteers does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855