Long serving volunteers from Shoalhaven honoured


The ongoing commitment of Shoalhaven volunteer firefighters will be recognised today at an official ceremony attended by the NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons and local dignitaries.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons will be presenting 39 members with Long Service Awards. “It is an honour to present these awards to these dedicated members.

I would personally like to acknowledge the tireless work undertaken by these, and all our members throughout Shoalhaven, including their recent commitment to the Deans Gap fire.

“All of the members being recognised today here in the Shoalhaven are examples of the selfless commitment demonstrated by volunteers right across NSW,” said Commissioner Fitzsimmons.

“The 39 members being honoured today have amassed an outstanding 496 years of collective service to the NSW RFS.

“I would particularly like to acknowledge Mr George Blicharz of the Milton Brigade who will be receiving an award for 23 years service to his community.

“Whether it’s responding to bush fire emergencies or attending car accidents and structure fires, our volunteers are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

“Our members don’t volunteer their time for awards or accolades, however this weekend is an opportunity for the wider NSW community to express our sincere thanks for their ongoing contribution,” said Commissioner Fitzsimmons.