Long serving Weddin Headquarters Brigade volunteers honoured


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) volunteers from the Mid Lachlan Valley Team have been honoured for their longstanding commitment to the local community at a special medal presentation this evening at the Weddin Fire Control Centre.

Member for Cootamundra Stephanie Cooke MP and NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM presented 12 Long Service Medals to volunteers from the Weddin Headquarters (HQ) Brigade in recognition of their service and dedication to the community.

Ms Cooke said that in total, these awards represented 306 years of combined service in the Mid Lachlan Valley Team area.

“There are three members at this evenings presentation who have each given more than 40 years’ service to their Brigade and their communities,” Ms Cooke said.

“The dedication of all the volunteers being recognised is inspiring.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons made particular mention of Allan Stokes, who has received the Long Service Medal 4th Clasp in recognition of his 54 years of service.

“Allan joined the Brigade in 1963 and has always been available to attend incidents in the area, more so now I hear after his professional retirement which I congratulate Allan on as well,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“I would like to acknowledge Stephen Howell as well, who is being recognised for his 43 years’ active service after joining in 1974.

“Well done also to Deputy Group Captain Stephen Chapple, who over his 42 years with the Service has continued to look after his local area since joining Greenthorpe Brigade in 1975, then also Weddin HQ in 2001, being active in both.

“Every one of these volunteers is worthy of our most sincere thanks.

“I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the hard work and professionalism of all Weddin HQ Brigade members does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of all our volunteers,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855