Mid Coast District veteran volunteers celebrated


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) today honoured long-standing Mid Coast District volunteers for their ongoing commitment to the community.

Member for Myall Lakes Stephen Bromhead LLM MP and NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Stuart Midgley presented five National Medals and 69 Long Service Medals to 73 recipients in recognition of their combined 1,513 years of service.

“The dedication and experience of each and every one of these volunteers is priceless and I know the community is thankful for the world-class fire protection afforded to them by the 97 Rural Fire Brigades within the Mid Coast District,” Mr Bromhead said.

“These recipients, as is the case with all NSW RFS members, do not ask for praise; however we gladly award these medals as a proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

“Their hard work and professionalism does not go unnoticed and this is a welcome opportunity for the community to express their gratitude and say thank you to all NSW RFS members.”

Assistant Commissioner Midgley said 39 of the 73 recipients had dedicated more than 20 years to the Service and community.

“Every member is worthy of the highest praise, however I would like to make particular mention of Paul Tollis and Bruce Hopper, who are receiving the Long Service Medal in recognition of their 50 and 49 years of service respectively,” Assistant Commissioner Midgley said.

“Bruce joined the Coolongolook Brigade in 1969 and is always there to lend a helping hand as well as serving as Secretary and Deputy Captain while Paul joined the Berowra Brigade in 1967 and Rainbow Flat Brigade in 1980, filling roles including Captain and President.

“I would also like to acknowledge our National Medal recipients Garth Honeysett, Keith Nicholls, David Edwards, Dennis Wamsley and Trevor Holder and thank them for their extraordinary achievements.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment to reflect upon the outstanding achievements of all of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855