More Gwydir volunteers recognised for service


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons formally acknowledged the long term dedication of numerous volunteers from the Gwydir region, while handing over the keys to four new bush fire trucks.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said being the recipient of a Long Service Medal demonstrates a person's loyalty to their community and commitment to helping others.

"Every member being recognised here today is not afraid of hard work and has shown a willingness to go the extra mile for their brigade.

"Together, the 19 men and women being awarded today have amassed more than 500 years of service between them. They are all outstanding members of their local communities and are worthy of our sincere gratitude.

"These volunteers all posses a diverse range of skills that enable them to fight bush, grass and house fires as well as attend road accidents and assist during storms and floods.

"I would particularly like to pay tribute to Rodney Honour who has been a member of the Stonefield brigade for more than 50 years, serving as Deputy Captain for more than 10 years.

"Geoffrey Schreck also deserves our thanks for more than 45 years of dedicated service with the Gragin brigade. He is a well respected and knowledgeable member of the brigade and a deserving recipient of a Long Service Medal."

Commissioner Fitzsimmons also congratulated the Warialda, Bingara, Coolatai and Diamond Swamp brigades on the acquisition of their new trucks.

"These four tankers have a combined worth of almost one million dollars but for these brigades they are simply a necessary tool that enable them to do what they do best - protect their communities from fire.

"These new tankers are replacing the older style models currently in service and will help our members continue their outstanding work," Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons concluded by saying the NSW RFS is committed to ensuring that volunteers have all of the necessary equipment required in order to carry out their valuable work.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855